Annual Meeting

2018 SAEA Annual Meeting
Mark your calendars now and plan to attend the 2018 SAEA Annual Meeting to be held in
Jacksonville, Florida February 2-6, 2018 at Hyatt Regency Hotel.

Call for Emerging Scholars Awards
The Southern Agricultural Economics Association (SAEA) is soliciting nominations for the 2018 “Emerging Scholar” awards. These awards are designed to highlight the work of high-performing early-career professionals in our profession. To be eligible, an applicant must, by May 8, 2017, be no more than 7 years from having received a terminal degree. Previous Emerging Scholar Award winners are not eligible to be nominated again. Nominations are encouraged from both within and outside the Southern region of the United States. Each institution, however, is limited to no more than two nominations. Nominees need not be current members of the SAEA.

Those selected for this award will be expected to present during an invited symposia session at the 2018 annual meeting in Jacksonville, FL, February 2 – 6. Presentations may be empirical or conceptual and can address topics related to research, extension, or instruction. All presentations are expected to be of high quality and to address issues on the frontier of knowledge in a given subject matter area. Recipients of the Emerging Scholar awards will be recognized at the SAEA business meeting and will receive a $250 honorarium.

Nominations must include a brief statement (no more than one page) regarding the nominee’s qualifications, a one-page presentation proposal, and a two-page curriculum vitae. Nominations

should be submitted via an e-mail attachment sent to Deacue Fields at with “Emerging Scholar Nomination” as the subject. Nominations must be received by May 8, 2017.

Meeting App Available
Please check out the newly created mobile application for the upcoming SAEA annual meeting. We encourage you to download the app and start digging into all of the features. Some items will be updated as the meeting draws closer, but in the meantime if you find any errors or have any technical issues please send a message to John Michael Riley at

We look forward to hearing your thoughts and certainly hope that the app makes your meeting experience more enjoyable and productive.

To find the app in your device’s store, visit the appropriate link below:

iTunes App Store URL:

Google App Store URL:

Or, enter the following URL into a mobile browser:

2017 SAEA Annual Meeting
Mobile, Alabama February 4-6, 2017

2016 SAEA Annual Meeting
San Antonio, Texas, February 6-9, 2016 at the Hyatt Regency – San Antonio, TX

2015 SAEA Annual Meeting
January 31 – February 3 at the Westin Peachtree Plaza – Atlanta, GA

2014 SAEA Annual Meeting
February 1-4 at Sheraton Dallas Hotel and Convention Center – Dallas, TX

2013 SAEA Annual Meeting

Future Meetings
Year Location
2017 Mobile, AL Feb 4-7
2018 Jacksonville, FL Feb 3-6

Other Past Meetings
Year Location
2012 Birmingham, AL
2011 Corpus Christi, Texas
2010 Orlando, Florida
2009 Atlanta, Georgia
2008 Dallas, Texas
2007 Mobile, Alabama
2006 Orlando, Florida
2005 Little Rock, Arkansas
2004 Tulsa, Oklahoma
2003 Mobile, Alabama
2002 Orlando, Florida
2001 Fort Worth, Texas
2000 Lexington, Kentucky