raineyPresident’s Corner
The 2016 annual meeting of the SAEA in San Antonio, Texas, was a tremendous success! There were a total of 452 attendees, including 174 faculty / career professionals, 137 graduate students, and 141 undergraduate students. Attendance was higher than for 2015 for all three groups. The number of undergraduate students attending and participating in the Quiz Bowl was a record, with the second-highest number of attendees at 126 in 2014.

I want to thank all of the committee chairs, committee members, and the SAEA Board for all of their hard work in planning a successful meeting. Special thanks goes to a number of people, including but not limited to the following. As he has graciously done for many years now, Jeff Jordan did an excellent job coordinating the meeting logistics, including receptions, meals, facilities, and general planning. John VanSickle helped in coordinating the meeting, as well as handling the program. Deacue Fields coordinated the selected paper and poster submissions and the review process. Jody Campiche and Carlos Carpio coordinated the computers, projectors, and other information technology support during the meeting. Members rolling off SAEA committees this year include Bill Herndon, Matt Fannin, Forrest Stegelin, Andrew Griffith, Ram Acharya, and Dmitry Vedenov, each of whom played an important role in the success of the meeting. The record-setting quiz bowl competition was a tremendous success under the leadership of Co-Chairs Sierra Howry and Joey Melhorn, as well as the quiz bowl advisors for each of the participating schools and the many volunteers who moderated, judged and/or helped with IT support for the Quiz Bowl. Thanks to all of you for your service to the SAEA! I want to thank Keith Coble, H.L. Goodwin, and Michael Popp for organizing outstanding invited paper symposium sessions for the annual meeting. Each of these sessions focused on issues of strong interest to our membership.

Membership in the SAEA remains strong, with 608 members, and we expect more members to join through the AAEA membership registration portal. The SAEA income statement for January 1, 2015, through December 31, 2015, showed income of $108,164.54 and expenses of $102,797.06. Lower income and expenses have resulted primarily from the transition of the Journal of Agricultural and Applied Economics to Cambridge Press. We expect income to increase as non-members pay fees for article access in the JAAE archives. End-of-2015 total assets of $192,053.13 were up slightly from end-of-2014 total assets of $190,435.01. The SAEA has no liabilities.

The SAEA was pleased to offer recognition for both lifetime achievement and early career achievement in agricultural economics. Individuals receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award were Joe Outlaw, Texas A&M University, and Wojciech Florkowski, University of Georgia. Both have provided strong contributions to the profession and to the SAEA and we thank them for those contributions. Both provided insights on the factors that had shaped their careers at a breakfast at the annual meeting. Individuals receiving the Emerging Scholars Award were Rebekka Dudensing, Texas A&M University; Kelly Grogan, University of Florida; and Jeff Luckstead, University of Arkansas. Each made research presentations at the Emerging Scholars session. Congratulations to the Lifetime Achievement Award and Emerging Scholar winners!

At the annual SAEA meetings, Journal of Agricultural and Applied Economics Editors Andrew McKenzie and Krishna Paudel reported that 121 manuscripts were handled in 2015, 90 of which were new submissions, so the number of submissions was up from 71 in 2014. The average turnaround time was 62 days. The Outstanding Journal Article Award for an article published in 2015 in the JAAE was presented to Supratim Das Gupta. Members rotating off the JAAE Editorial Council are Jeff Alwang, Kym Anderson, Kathy Segerson, and Benjamin Senauer. They are being replaced by Stephen Devadoss, Marc Ribaudo, Jesse Tack, and Yuqing Zheng. As Associate Editor, Henry Kinnucan continued to handle review articles for the JAAE. I want to thank all of these individuals for their service to the JAAE. Andrew McKenzie and Krishna Paudel have entered the last year of their term as editors and I want to offer a special thanks to them for their outstanding service over the last three years. They have done an excellent job in enhancing the standing of the JAAE, particularly during the transition to a new format with Cambridge Press.

Michael Reed and Sayed Saghaian, both with the University of Kentucky, have graciously agreed to transition in as the new Editors. Their term will begin July 1, 2016. I want to provide special thanks to a number of people. Barry Barnett completed his term as Past President at the February meetings. During his year as Past President, he provided leadership in the selection of the professional awards and in reviewing and recommending revisions to the SAEA constitution and bylaws. Thank you, Barry, for all you have done for the SAEA over the past several years. Ron Rainey completed his term as President at the February meetings. During his year as President, he provided excellent leadership in coordinating the many activities of the SAEA, too many to list here. Thank you, Ron, and I look forward to continuing to work with you this year in your position as Past President. Deacue Fields completed his term as Director at the February meetings. We appreciate his strong leadership in this very important role over the past three years. I am pleased to welcome Lisa House, University of Florida, as our President-Elect, and Susana Ferreira, University of Georgia, as Director, to the SAEA leadership team. Each will serve three-year terms. If you have nominations for officers for 2016-2017, please send them to me or any other member of the Executive Committee. Also, please contact me at jmgille@lsu.edu if you are interested in serving on an SAEA committee.

Please mark your calendars now for next year’s annual meeting, to be held February 4-7, 2017, in Mobile, Alabama.

Jeffrey M. Gillespie, SAEA President

Annual Meeting – Presidential Address
Jeffrey Gillespie, incoming SAEA president, discussed structuring undergraduate agricultural economics and agribusiness programs. Read more HERE.

New Journal Distribution
The Journal of Agricultural and Applied Economics is now published by Cambridge University Press as an open-access, on-line journal HERE.  Individual members of the Southern Agricultural Economics Association will continue to have access to past issues as part of their membership.

To ensure you do not miss any new content from Journal of Agricultural and Applied Economics, activate free content alerts at:  journals.cambridge.org/JAAE-alerts

Follow SAEA on Social Media
SAEA Executive Council is excited to launch social media sites promoting the association.  We are thankful for the dedicated service and creativity of the Outreach and Engagement Committee for creating additional outlets for SAEA members and supporters to network and engage.





Position Announcements
Assistant Professor – Tennessee Tech University
Assistant/Associate Professor – California State University Monterey Bay

Address Changes/Email Signup
Please contact us HERE if your email or mailing addresses change. Also contact us, at the same address, if you are a member and are not receiving emails from SAEA and wish to do so. Email postings are infrequent and deal only with SAEA matters.